Let’s try that again…

I like that Christmas lasts for twelve days. I like that the newness of it gets to wear off, the tree starts to look a little sad, the ribbons jam up the vacuum and the Christmas Ham finally ends up in the soup pot. I like that we have to get on to the business of living with Jesus and get over the excitement of his showing up.

That was the beginning of my Daily Cup this time last year. As we set off on another season of Epiphany I am struck by the wisdom of this cycle.  Of every year being reminded that every thing begins again. That the ending of one thing is also the beginning of another. That, for every revelation, there comes a time when we must collect what we have learned and move on to the next bit. It is an unceasing cycle of renewal and opportunity to try once again. This is very good news to those, like myself, who seem to require countless learning opportunities.

Annemarie

About stalbansparish

St. Alban's Parish is a vibrant and diverse Episcopal Church in Washington, DC near the National Cathedral. We come from every walk of life, every culture and context, and every corner of this region. St. Alban's Parish is active in the city, engaging social issues, and making the reconciling love of Christ known in word and deed. We have ministries for children, youth, young adults, adults, and the elderly. We have outreach programs that address homelessness, poverty, the environment, and hunger. We believe in being open and inclusive to all people no matter disability, age, income, gender, race, or sexual orientation. We welcome the faithful, the seeker, and the doubter, because God's embrace is wide, and God's good news is for all people. We want you to come, participate, grow in God's love, and become a part of the Body of Christ at St. Alban's!
This entry was posted in Annemarie Quigley, Annemarie Stroud. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s try that again…

  1. Carole Mize says:

    I love Annamarie’s daily cups.

  2. John Budd says:

    Dear Kenz,

    Here’s today’s post from The Daily Cup written by our favorite person, Annemarie. As always it’s good – and it seems especially timely for you today, the beginning of beginning again. I’m even inspired by it thinking about how I, too, “require countless learning opportunities”.

    It was good to read that your day (and Simon’s, too) was fairly good. It seems like the anticipation of going back to work is often times worst than the actual day. I just know so many people were glad to see you – not just because of your work, but because you bring such joy to wherever you are. Thank goodness you’re able to come home to Simon and share your day together – that’s priceless!

    Too bad about Mr. Hafner’s birthday present, but you predicted its ugliness, didn’t you? I guess, in this case, it’s the thought that counts.

    We got a lot done yesterday – and none of it fun. All the Christmas stuff is boxed up and in the basement. Next week we’ll put it in the crawl space. (But before it goes in we’re going to go through all the crawl space stuff. I’m sure some of it can be given away – like your Spy Kit, if that’s ok.) We also got the house cleaned – the first time since right before you came. We did have a bit of fun at the end of the day when we took Christmas gifts over to the Uptons. The kids seem to like their gifts, but I think Nathan’s was the hit. His gift was the building set that you bought the paint tarp for.

    Is your lunch bag too big? If it is, let me know and I bet I can find you another one that’s a bit smaller. 🙂

    Guess I better get started on my day – there’s a few things to do before I head off to Brody.

    I love you so much (and I’m hoping we can have a chat tomorrow!), Mom xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxo

  3. Susan Muncey says:

    Love this!!! Thanks for your wisdom! Susan

  4. Anton Vanterpool II says:

    Annemarie, thanks for the post. I appreciate celebrating the full Christmas season for a couple of reasons. I send greeting cards throughout the season, no rush to get them out by December 25th. I also keep the Christmas music going from the First Sunday of Advent to Epiphany. Christmas shouldn’t stop on December 26, let Santa take a Victory lap.

Leave a Reply

