Transactional Analysis

I have a confession: I dread intercessory prayers.  Maybe it’s growing up in a traditional Roman church, maybe I’m just cold-hearted, but it always sounds to me like we are telling God his business. I understand that it gives many people great comfort, and I’m thankful for that.  I’m just not at all comfortable asking for things.

Perhaps I approach prayer incorrectly. I don’t see it as a two-way conversation. It feels more like a therapy session: I’ll rattle on (within my own head) to a non-communicating blank stare, constantly revising in an effort to be clearer, only to happen upon a truth that was already there. Always was there.

Annemarie

About stalbansparish

St. Alban's Parish is a vibrant and diverse Episcopal Church in Washington, DC near the National Cathedral. We come from every walk of life, every culture and context, and every corner of this region. St. Alban's Parish is active in the city, engaging social issues, and making the reconciling love of Christ known in word and deed. We have ministries for children, youth, young adults, adults, and the elderly. We have outreach programs that address homelessness, poverty, the environment, and hunger. We believe in being open and inclusive to all people no matter disability, age, income, gender, race, or sexual orientation. We welcome the faithful, the seeker, and the doubter, because God's embrace is wide, and God's good news is for all people. We want you to come, participate, grow in God's love, and become a part of the Body of Christ at St. Alban's!
This entry was posted in Annemarie Quigley. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transactional Analysis

  1. Sheila Roberts says:

    As a child, I developed the philosophy of not asking God for specific things. I think this must have been the result of praying for something specific and not getting it. So, I prayed for the strength to bear an illness, as opposed to praying to be healed. However, as life went on somewhere along the way, I began to understand that prayer was one of the ways God’s people communicate with him. And I began to appreciate intercessory prayer as a means of communicating with God about people and concerns that mattered most to me. Somehow, bringing my concerns to the altar feels like sharing my load with God. This reassures me and yes, reminds of the truth that was always there.

  2. John Daniel Reaves says:

    I have trouble with the parts of the Prayer Book where we are called upon “Let us bless the Lord” and ( in The General Thanksgiving) “We bless you for our creation ….” It seems to me that it should be the other way around: asking God to bless us. But the OED says blessing God, apparently exclusive to the Christian churches, is read as “praising” God. It still seems odd.

Leave a Reply

