Senseless Beauty, Part One Plus One

I often pick up pieces of paper that I find on the ground if I notice that they have handwriting on them.  Most often they are folded or crumpled and I smooth them out and read words that were never intended to inspire an audience: milk, eggs, avocados.  Many months ago I found a Post-it note that has been adorning my refrigerator ever since:

IMG_4451 If the photo is unclear here’s how it reads:

Sasha had a hard
time understanding
that you could
put 2 weights on
one # so instead
of doing
3 + 1 = 4
he stayed with
3 + 1 = 3 + 1

Thank you, Sasha, for reminding us that there is more than one way to make sense of things…

All of us+

Read Senseless Beauty (Part 1) here:

https://stalbansparish.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/senseless-beauty/

Happy Monday,

Jim

This entry was posted in The Rev. Jim Quigley and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Senseless Beauty, Part One Plus One

  1. Julie Ann Clements says:

    Jim, I am sure there is more than one way to understand my placement of a nametag from Children’s Chapel in the children’s offering basket, which l knew would later receive a blessing, rather than continue to adorn my Crucifer robe with a nametag evidencing my first name, written out in purple script. Perhaps, I thought I was avoiding looking unprofessional by removing the nametag from my robe in time for performance of my Crucifer offering duties. More likely, I was folding the nametag up and placing it in the offering to share something with God. As Lucy Ricardo says, “There is more than one way to skin a cat.” I like finding different ways to do it, and I appreciate people who are thoughtful about what may seem to others to be quite mundane things- from what a post-it conveys to what folding up a Children’s Chapel nametag means! I am glad I read this 🙂 Mystery partly resolved!

Leave a Reply

