The Ellipse

It was a beautiful spring day: warm and clear and bright. I had gone from the Senate Office Building where I worked to the new Executive Office Building near the White House to try to negotiate obtaining something my committee needed from OMB (the Office of Management and Budget). I eventually was successful, but not that day.

I headed back in a dark mood; head down, grumbling to myself. Grrr. I decided to walk over to Constitution Avenue to hop a Metrobus, just to calm down. As I walked through the Ellipse, I saw him – stretched out on the grass on his back, just soaking up some rays – not a care in the world. I knew him. I had known him for years from bringing him breakfast one Sunday morning a month as part of the St. Paul’s, K St, Grate Patrol.

As I walked past him in his blissful relaxation in the sun and I in my dark mood, I thought “One of us has the wrong idea about how to live, and it might be me.”

I think it is no accident that the prayer “For Joy in God’s Creation” is the very first one in the BCP section of Prayers and Thanksgivings. I try to keep it in mind now.

“O heavenly Father, who has filled the world with beauty: Open our eyes to behold your gracious hand in all your works; that, rejoicing in your whole creation, we may learn to serve you with gladness; for the sake of him through whom all things were made, your Son Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Ron Hicks, Parish Verger, St. Alban’s Episcopal Church, Washington DC, 8-April-2014.

This entry was posted in Ron Hicks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ellipse

  1. PBleicher@aol.com says:

    Oh, Ron, perfect. And just what I needed to read today. thank you, pat

  2. Anton Vanterpool II says:

    Ron, Thank you for reflecting on how blessed we are to be a part of our Creator’s world. On earth as it is in heaven.

Leave a Reply

