Waiting

This past Sunday was the first Sunday of the season of Advent in the church.  Advent means coming so we say that the season of Advent is a season waiting.  Waiting for what is to come.  Waiting for Christ.

There are lots of ways to wait.  I’ve always said that if my “career” went south I could always make a living as a waiter, a job I loved.  On Wednesday night this week at my church we will begin a two-week adult education offering on waiting so I’ve been reading and thinking a bit about what it means to be a waiter in the Christian sense.

As I pondered the act of waiting in my own life one of the things that came to mind was my Dad.  I remembered what it was like to be waiting for him to return from a road trip to Des Moines from Chicago and it got late… would he come?

It’s easy to think of traffic jams or doctors offices when we think of what it means to wait. But we don’t wait well for what we do not love.  And loving means waiting.

As we wait for God this season of Advent may we remember that God is waiting for us.

Happy Monday,

Jim+

 

This entry was posted in The Rev. Jim Quigley and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting

  1. Christian says:

    What touching and beautifully written little piece. I am chewing on some of your comments. Why does loving mean waiting? Why is God waiting for us? God already knows what we are going to do. He knows how we will fall short… before we do so. What is God waiting for? So many questions.

  2. jimq2012 says:

    Yes!

  3. Bob Witten says:

    Thank you, Jim. Again, you have opened my eyes. Even while I remain bowled over by your sermon about “Charity being the enemy of Justice”. Thanks for both lessons.,

  4. Jerry says:

    Reminds me of the waiting Father and the Parable of the Prodigal Son:
    Luke 15:11-32

Leave a Reply

