That was me

In my contacts with the homeless that frequent St. Alban’s, it often seems that we are not making any appreciable difference in their lives; that we are only feeding them, necessary as that may be.  But every now and then there is a flash that says something more can happen.  Such a moment occurred last week.

I was placing our bi-weekly order with Giant’s Peapod service for the bread, lunchmeat, raisins and other items that our Grate Patrol uses to make 100 or so bag lunches for homeless persons living on the street.  After placing the order, I always call Peapod’s customer service number to ask them to alert their warehouse about the large quantities in our order, such as 15 loaves of bread and 25 six-packs of raisins.  I’ve found I have to do that or we get short-shipped.  When I called last week my call was taken by a woman I’ll call Jane.  As we were about to ring off, I thought to tell her the purpose of the items I was ordering, meals for homeless people.  She said, “O Thank you for doing that.  That was me a year ago.”  I said “It’s wonderful that you were able to come out of that situation.  I know it is really hard to do.”  And she said, “Yes, it is the hardest thing I’ve ever done, and I couldn’t have done it without you”, meaning not me or even St. Alban’s specifically, for she might have been in a call center anywhere in the country, but meaning the collective effort of churches everywhere.  She said further that it had made her a stronger and kinder person.

So, St. Albanites, feel good about your outreach work, and keep it up.  It matters, and can sometimes make a life-changing difference.

“Let not the needy, O Lord, be forgotten;  Nor the hope of the poor be taken away.”

Ron Hicks, Parish Verger, St. Alban’s Episcopal Church, Washington DC, 24-February-2015

This entry was posted in Ron Hicks. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That was me

  1. Ron, this is so beautiful: you don’t know how hard a life can be. How frightening it is to be on the street, how you lose everything and think you have been abandoned even by God. How you can be raped, battered. How people won’t do as Jesus did–and lay themselves down for you. There is little love in the world!!!!!!

  2. Marty Kerns says:

    Ron, thank you for sharing this insightful information. Although most of the programs that St. Alban’s participates in are feeding programs. These feeding programs allow the institutions we provide meals for to concentrate their resources on programs that do change the lives of the people they serve. The individuals that GRATE Patrol, Christ House and SOME serve receive needed benefits that might not be available – housing, medical, mental and dental benefits – if our parish and others did not participate in feeding programs these benefits would not be available for the most needy among us.

  3. lostratton says:

    Nice Ron, I have goosebumps! LOIS

Leave a Reply

