Show Us

“Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.”

John 14:6-14

 

peek-a-boo

 

The disciple Philip asks Jesus to show him God…just like I think we often ask God to show up so we can see God.  “God, take away the blinders I have on so that I can see you and know you and believe that you are here with me.”

 

And Jesus’ reply to Philip can certainly be read with a bit of exasperation: “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and you still do not know me?”  One wonders if that would be God’s reply to us when we ask for God to be present, to be shown to us: “I’ve been here the whole time.  I’ve been all around you; how do you not see me?”

 

God IS present always and in all ways.  God and God’s presence may not look like how we imagine, or at first blush, what we might need to see…but God is there.  Everywhere.  With us.  God is present in the people who love us.  God is present in the good and the bad that befalls us.  To say otherwise is to limit the omnipresence of our creator, our sustainer, and our redeemer.

 

Where have you seen God today?  Where has God shown up alive, active and present to you in your life TODAY?  Look and you will find God with you…always and in all ways.

In Christ,

Matthewfirst

About matthewhanisian

Associate Rector at St. Alban's Episcopal Church, Washington, D.C.
This entry was posted in The Rev. Matthew R. Hanisian, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Show Us

  1. For me, God is in the poor and the sick, or the afflicted. Many people have no time for the poor or the afflicted or see them as ugly and dead weight. But I see them as very beautiful. I see them as possessing in their lineaments the very incomparable form of our poor forsaken God.

Leave a Reply

