God is Love and…

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Back in the day, in a place called Anathoth, in the land of Benjamin, God said to Yirmehya, or some say yir-meh-yahoo (add a little guttural to the hoo after the ya and you got it) “Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.”  Yirmehya’s response to God’s word was tentative: “Ah, Lord God!  Yada! (behold!)  I can’t speak!  I’m just a child!  And God replied (But the LORD said unto me), “Say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak!”

In Biblical Hebrew the name Yirmehya means “Thou whom Jehovah has appointed.”  The name of the town where Yirmehya was born, Anathoth, means “answers to prayer.”  So back in the day God tells Jeremiah that he had been appointed, and that even his birthplace foretold his destiny – that in speaking for God he would be an answer to God’s prayer for who he’d become.

My name is Jim.  I can’t tell you what Jim “means.”  I was born in a town called Lombard. I’m not sure I want to know what Lombard means.  Maybe I should investigate.

Sometimes it takes awhile to know what God has appointed us to do, or to realize who God calls us to be.   Most of the time we make lots of mistakes along the way to the realization that God has for us and our lives.   But I can assure you God is there.   In every step God is using us in ways we may not know.  Ways that often seem unfavorable to us.

We have all been appointed.   Each of us are fulfilling a purpose.  Know that God is at work in the world.  Know that God is at work in you.  And if you are wondering…

Be patient.  For God is love.  And love is…

Happy Monday,

Jim+

 

 

This entry was posted in The Rev. Jim Quigley, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to God is Love and…

  1. Sensei, there was once a time I was so badly hurt I decided to get back at God in a way that would really hurt Him. So I vowed to go and find all the Bibles I could and turn to St. John: God is love and cross out “love” and write in “cruelty.” I also threw coconut cream pies at Jesus in my mind. I threatened to run away with lord Krishna. When I came to St. A, I was impressed by your sermons and blogs. You came into my heart, Sensei, and guided me back to Jesus. Slowly I began to pray before the Crucifix that I have in my room, morning and night. I now give thanks and fast and repent on my knees reading psalms for the poor. I am busy learning the psalms by heart. How long, O Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will you hide Your Face from me?

    I have not gotten love. But Jesus is kinder. He is my GrandMaster, and you, my Sensei.

  2. Ezartmanball says:

    Great cup (as usual)

    Eve Zartman-Ball Ezartmanball@yahoo.com 202-361-2778

    >

  3. I think courtesy and kindness is the real thing. In Karate we are taught to be humble and courteous. In fact, Karate is not about kicking and punching but about a high spiritual calling to bring justice and love to the world.

  4. Peter says:

    Jim, your cup reminded me of the first lines of the poem “The Desert” by Minnie Louise Haskins (1876-1957), a poem that was quoted by King George VI in London on Christmas 1939.
    It reads:
    And I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year:
    “Give me a light, that I may travel safely into the unknown!”
    And he replied:
    “Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the Hand of God.
    That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.”

    Peter

  5. Jo says:

    Thank you, Peter!

  6. Ruth Malloy says:

    Thank you for this week’s Daily Cup. The reminder of God’s love came at an important time in my life. I just recently lost my job. And, I have to admit that it has been difficult without the daily direction. I know to be patient.

    (I’m sorry if this posted twice.)

Leave a Reply

