What Can I Give?

A former colleague was in town last week and during our catching-up conversation she mentioned that she enjoyed reading my weekly Daily Cup offerings. I was grateful for her kind words, of course, but told her that when people say this it puts a little bit (actually, a lot) of pressure on me to have a weekly original thought that might be a welcome reminder of God’s good news.  She is Rector of a small church where she preaches every week, so she of course understood the pressure! She said she had made peace with the fact that some weeks she just doesn’t have much, and we agreed that sometimes not much had to be enough.

Tonight is Christmas Eve, and you have perhaps put pressure on yourself to find perfect gifts – not just perfect things, but the gifts of convivial gatherings with family and friends, decorations that light up your neighborhood, and being in touch with far-flung acquaintances. It’s probably a good time then to remind you of one of my favorite carols, In the bleak midwinter (hardly appropriate, I realize, on this 70 degree day), and its final line, Yet what I can I give him, give  my heart.

Sometimes not much has to be enough. Sometimes giving your heart is all that anyone wants anyway.

Merry Christmas!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRobryliBLQ

SonyaFirst004

This entry was posted in Sonya Subbayya Sutton and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Can I Give?

  1. Tom Gustafson says:

    Thank you, Sonya!

  2. Vivian Andary says:

    Thank you for sharing your faith and encouragement! It truely is a cup that fills my heart and enables me to put into the world cloaked in Jesus’s love.
    Sincerely,
    Vivian Andary

  3. JIM TATE says:

    Through time hymnologists and theologians may have questioned Christina Rossetti’s theology in her poem In the Bleak Midwinter. But your comments about the current warm weather were clearly covered in the first verse of her poem: “In the bleak mid-winter, Long ago.” (with emphasis on the long ago). After all, the Earth has been warming since the end of the Pleistocene. The sentiment in the last verse, “Yet what I can, I give Him – Give my heart,” was also phrased by Longfellow, “…and wild and sweet the word repeat of peace on earth, good-will to men!” Thank you for a fine Christmas Eve cup of historic wisdom. -TATE

  4. Suzanne+ says:

    I was walking through the woods this morning and singing just this!
    SO good to have seen you last week–blessings in abundance to you dear Sonya! xo

Leave a Reply

