Happy Office Plants

My spiritual practice, such as it is, includes my reading an eclectic collection of daily email meditations, quotes, and reflections from different religions, cultures, and sources. A couple of days ago, I found this in my inbox:

“Never go to a doctor whose office plants have died.”
– Erma Bombeck

Now, I have always enjoyed Erma Bombeck’s delightful perspective on lifeOffice plant 1, but this quote
struck close to home. You see, I do not have a particularly green thumb. In fact, I can kill a houseplant with the best of them. So, I must admit to being a bit dismayed when I began working at St. Alban’s last summer and discovered that there were plants in the church office, and I wondered how long they would last under my questionable care.

Fortunately for these defenseless plants, and for me, they have not had to rely solely on me for their survival as they are blessed to call St. Alban’s Church home. When I neglect them for a day or two, another staff member or parishioner will come upon them and give them the water that they need or kindly point out to me that one of them is looking a bit sad. I have also seen signs of that loving selective pruning of which I am incapable. This is a great source of comfort to me – to know that I am not alone in caring for these plants.Office plant 2

That comfort extends far beyond those houseplants.  Their longevity  exemplifies what I have experienced, in so many ways, here at St. Alban’s – a caring, supportive faith community that takes sharing the love of God seriously. I am thankful to be a part of St. Alban’s Church!

Peace!
Charles Porter
Parish Adminstrator

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

