Remember Two Things

I love Monday mornings.  I love them because I get to wake and wonder, “What shall I write about today?”  I get to wake and wonder, “Have I done anything worth mentioning? Since most of the time the answer to the second question is “Well, um, not really…” the discipline of writing a daily cup once a week (see the next paragraph for more detail on that statement) is a good one to have.  Helps one to remember the importance of our daily mitzvehs.

Some of my colleagues write their Daily Cups ahead of time and schedule their release, a feature that’s possible on the WordPress website.  I tend more to “live in the moment” with the Daily Cups, partly because that’s just my nature and also because, if you haven’t noticed, if “I’m just not feeling it,” as they say, I just don’t post.  If I happen to be on vacation or off work for some reason I don’t post either, knowing that sun will rise and fall (and so will you) whether I post a cup or not.

So using an evangelical turn of phrase, what the Lord has put in my heart to share with you today is actually not one but rather two things – I hope they are worth your while but if not, no worries, the sun will set, as usual, and it will rise again tomorrow…   

Number One:  Like Kermit the frog said, “It’s not easy being green.”  It’s not easy being me.  It’s not easy being you.  God knows it’s not easy being a priest and God knows, especially in our little corner of the kingdom right now, it’s not easy being a parishioner either (not to say that it ever is)!  So let’s take it easy on ourselves when we can.  We must, as always, speak the truth in love, but we must also remember that it’s not easy being a church – never was, never will be.

When I remember that here’s what I see.  Not all of us were at the parish weekend a few years ago but those of you who were might remember when we took these (232 8.5′ x 11′ abstract paintings, with written reflections penned by parishioners on the places that eventually – see below – would not be visible):IMG_4583

IMG_4580 IMG_4516 IMG_4515 IMG_4514 IMG_4513 IMG_4511 IMG_4506 IMG_4499 IMG_4500 IMG_4501 IMG_4502 IMG_4503 IMG_4504 IMG_4498 IMG_4497 IMG_4495 IMG_4494 IMG_4493   IMG_4492 IMG_4486 IMG_4487 IMG_4488 IMG_4489 IMG_4490 IMG_4491 IMG_4485 IMG_4484 IMG_4483 IMG_4482 IMG_4480 IMG_4479 IMG_4497 IMG_4476 IMG_4478 IMG_4477and then put them together…

IMG_4521

to make this:

IMG_4465

That was cool.

And here’s number two.  Lent begins soon and some of you might remember how Nourse Hall looked a few years ago during this liturgical season of self-examination:

IMG_3417 IMG_3413  IMG_3412                      IMG_3416

Well, it will look that way again this year.  As part of our Lenten offerings at St. Alban’s the paintings that I made in conjunction with the thesis I wrote in seminary on the stations of the cross will hang again (the metaphor is painful but perfect).

And on Wednesdays during Lent Nourse Hall will be open from 6:30 to 8:00 pm.  The labyrinth will be displayed on the floor underneath the stations of the cross.  Sacred music will be playing.  We’ll write a set of spiritual questions inspired by each station and participants will be invited to read the questions, view the stations and walk the labyrinth as they ponder their answers.  Happy or sad, parishioner and priest alike… come one, come all… the pondering will do us some good.

As I sometimes like to say when I finish preaching a sermon, that’s all I’ve got.

Amen, and make it a happy Monday,

Jim+

This entry was posted in The Rev. Jim Quigley, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remember Two Things

  1. Janis Grogan says:

    Wonderful idea. I walked the labyrinth for the first time at this past year’s parish weekend and look forward to doing it with questions to ponder. Walking it under your moving paintings with sacred music playing is guaranteed to let peace pervade our spirits. Thank you Jim.

  2. Marty says:

    Great stuff, both the Parish Weekend exercise and the hanging of the paintings.

Leave a Reply

