Like Jell-o

This week I don’t think I have anything profound or deeply theological to impart with my Daily Cup.  However, I would like to offer some wisdom that came to me once that might prove to be helpful in the days and weeks to come here at St. Alban’s.

During my years at Virginia Theological Seminary I got to know several of the students who came to VTS from Africa.  In particular there were several students from Tanzania I got to know particularly well.  One evening as a group of us were unwinding after exam week we got to trading stories and particular sayings that were meaningful to us.  One of the Tanzanian students told us one of his favorite proverbs that comes from the Sukuma people: “The wind does not break a tree that can bend.”  To which another student jokingly replied (and I’m paraphrasing here), “Yeah, so what you’re saying is we need to be like Jell-o…wobble but don’t break.”

1-jello-mold-dreamalittlebiggerblowing-tree

 

 

 

 

 

I think may be helpful for us to think about and keep in mind in the time to come:  Be like Jell-o….or be like that tree that bends and isn’t broken by the wind (whichever illustration works best for you).  What I know about our congregation is that there may be winds that blow fiercely, there may be things that poke us and cause us to get bent out of shape, but that if we are supple, not rigid…if we are flexible and not dogged stubborn in our stance, we will come back to our good form…back to upright, no matter how strong the wind may blow.

In Christ,

Matthewfirst

 

About matthewhanisian

Associate Rector at St. Alban's Episcopal Church, Washington, D.C.
This entry was posted in The Rev. Matthew R. Hanisian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

